What we do: The PCCSL provides a voluntary self regulatory method to resolve inaccuracies that may occur in newspapers, magazines, journals and online editions of newspapers. Bound by the Editors’ Code, the PCCSL resolves complaints in a FAST,FREE and FAIR procedure.

The Press Complaints Commission of Sri Lanka (PCCSL) is a voluntary self-regulatory mechanism inaugurated on October 15, 2003 by the media industry following an international conference whose outcome was the Colombo Declaration on Press Freedom and Social Responsibility of 1998 and re-visited in 2008 and 2018.

The international seminar held in Colombo in 1998 was organized by the Newspaper Society of Sri Lanka, The Editors’ Guild of Sri Lanka and the Free Media Movement in association with the Sri Lanka Working Journalists Association, the World Association of Newspapers, the Commonwealth Press Union, the International Press Institute, Article 19 and the Media Institute of Southern Africa.

It works on the principles of conciliation, mediation and arbitration under the Arbitration Act No 11 of 1995. The High Court of Colombo is empowered to enforce an arbitration award made under the Act; in the event a newspaper fails to publish the decision of the Dispute Resolution Council of the PCCSL should a complainant wish to pursue a case where the editor is not abiding by the arbitral decision.


To promote the Code of Professional Practice of The Editors’ Guild of Sri Lanka as a means towards promoting self-regulation in the print media while emphasizing its importance towards ethical reporting in building a socially responsible press; to resolve disputes between the print media and the public through conciliation, mediation, arbitration and to advocate for a more responsible media.


To be the leader in Self-Regulation in Sri Lanka and the South Asia region.


To provide an effective mechanism to readers in resolving complaints fast, free and fair and to promote good professional practices.

Board of Directors

Kumar Nadesan
Chairman, nominee of SLPI
Nimal Welgama
Nominee of the Newspaper Society of Sri Lanka
Sinha Ratnatunga
Nominee of The Editors’ Guild of
Sri Lanka
Manik de Silva
Nominees of the SLPI
Thaha Muzammil
Nominee of the Free Media Movement
Lakshman Muthuthanthirge
Nominee of the Sri Lanka Working Journalist Association
Dharman Wickramarathne

M. N. Ameen

Mohanlal Piyadasa
Elected by the general membership of the PCCSL

Dispute Resolution Council

The Dispute Resolution Council (DRC) of the PCCSL comprises 11 members six of whom represent civil society including an Attorney-at-Law who is also the Chairman. The balance five are senior journalists.

The Chairman is former Secretary General of Parliament Mr. Nihal Seneviratne. The other civil society members are: Dr. A. C. Viswalingam, Mr. Lucille Wijewardene, Mr. Javid Yusuf, Mr. Dion Schoorman and Mrs. Gnana Moonesinghe.

The journalist members are: Mr. Siri Ranasinghe, Mr. Pramod de Silva, Mr. P. Balasingham, Mr. D. M. L. Andree and Mr. Nilantha Madurawala

PCCSL Secretariat

Mr. Sukumar Rockwood
Chief Executive Officer / Complaints Officer – English